Helplessness

This week I’m sitting at home able to do very little. On Monday I had shoulder surgery and will be in a sling for the next six weeks. Add to that the fact that ” the weather outside is frightful” so that I dare not go out for fear of falling. In other words, there is nothing that I can do this week in any practical way to advance the kingdom, but have to trust that Christ is at work.

Add to that the phone call I just received telling me that the building where we meet for church is flooded due to burst pipes. Helpless!

If we do not believe that Christ himself is building his church his way, and in his time, and with his power we will be driven either to despair or to depend upon ourselves. Either way we become useless as witnesses to Christ and the hope that is in him.  Jesus asks first and foremost that we believe that he is doing us good. Our first duty is not service, but faith.

Are you trusting Jesus today? It is more important that you believe that he is at work than it is for you to be at work yourself.

One thought on “Helplessness

  1. Martin Stumpf February 20, 2015 / 5:17 pm

    Oh dear brother and faithful servant of Christ, you DID just do work for the Kingdom! Let it snow!

    I was very encouraged by what you wrote. I too feel so helpless in my daily cross carrying and I have recently been quite discouraged. I have been sharing with others for months now a perspective that I came to regarding faith. We have justification, sanctification, and glorification. We realize that there is a process involved with all three. In Christ, we dwell particularly on sanctification, but I have realized that a huge element in my sanctification is my faith. Therefore, I have coined the word ‘faithification’ to describe the daily struggle that I find myself in.

    So often I simply do not believe that God is good and God is all powerful at the same time. (With broken pipes in the church I hope to attend someday, how can He be?) My theology tells me I am prideful, arrogant, and sinful. My spirit cries out daily in prayer and study to ‘find’ God. My faith wanes with my experience of the transcendence of God. I so desperately need Him to be palpably immanent so that while carrying my cross I am following Him! I want to see Jesus, I want to hear Him speak. I want my faith in Christ to be so rock solid that the “splinters” are a light and momentary affliction.

    Your final sentence is exactly what I have been struggling with “It is more important that you believe that he is at work than it is for you to be at work yourself.” As a leader in church, I know that I can do great things and accomplish much. I want only the peace of knowing that it is God at work and not me and the other men who preach and teach and serve. Always following the living Christ while leading others. “O Lord, I do believe, help my unbelief” Mark 9:24

    Maranatha!

Leave a comment